Gold Prices Rise as India, China Demand Increases, Fed Chairman Powell to Speak By Investing.com


© Reuters.

Investing.com – Gold prices moved slightly higher on Tuesday after signs of increasing demand from India and China and investors looked ahead to a speech from Federal Reserve Chairman Jerome Powell, as well as appearances from other policymakers.

At 10:55 AM ET (15:55 GMT), for April delivery on the Comex division of the New York Mercantile Exchange edged forward $1.05, or 0.08%, to $1,312.95 a troy ounce.

ING Head of Commodities Strategy Warren Patterson highlighted two bullish factors related to gold demand in his daily note.

First, Patterson noted a 64% increase in Indian gold imports during January and suggested that 2019 could be a better year for the precious metal thanks to “higher government spending ahead of general elections and monetary easing by the Reserve Bank of India”.

With regard to China, he noted that the central bank increased its gold holdings for a second-consecutive month.

Meanwhile, traders looked ahead to appearances from Federal Reserve policymakers. The focus will fall on , who will be speaking at the Hope Enterprise Corporation Rural Policy Forum in Mississippi at 12:45 PM ET (17:45 GMT).

Speeches from Cleveland Fed president and Kansas City Fed chief are also on the agenda later in the day.

Market expectations for a Fed rate hike this year are hanging by a thread, according to Investing.com’s , after the U.S. central bank last month pledged to be patient with further rate hikes.

Expectations for a slower-than-originally estimated pace of tightening decreases the pressure on gold, which doesn’t bear interest.

In other metals trading, dipped 0.11% at $15.672 a troy ounce by 10:56 AM ET (15:56 GMT).

gained 0.95% to $1,369.70 an ounce, while sister metal traded up 0.36% at $789.40.

In base metals, declined 0.93% to $2.764 a pound.

Disclaimer: Fusion Media would like to remind you that the data contained in this website is not necessarily real-time nor accurate. All CFDs (stocks, indexes, futures) and Forex prices are not provided by exchanges but rather by market makers, and so prices may not be accurate and may differ from the actual market price, meaning prices are indicative and not appropriate for trading purposes. Therefore Fusion Media doesn`t bear any responsibility for any trading losses you might incur as a result of using this data.

Fusion Media or anyone involved with Fusion Media will not accept any liability for loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information including data, quotes, charts and buy/sell signals contained within this website. Please be fully informed regarding the risks and costs associated with trading the financial markets, it is one of the riskiest investment forms possible.





Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *